Information about the Open Qualifier

  • News

You play FIFA 21 and come from the Nordic region (Sweden, Denmark, Norway and Finland) or from the DACH region (Germany, Austria and Switzerland)? Then you should keep November 17th and 18th in mind. The next edition of the OneBlade Cup – sponsored by Philips – will start with the Open Qualifier! After we have already given you the first information about the continuation of the OneBlade Cup, you will now receive details about the Open Qualifier.

OneBlade Cup

What is the Open Qualifier?

The Open Qualifier offers every player aged 16 and over from the regions mentioned the opportunity to take part in the OneBlade Cup in FIFA 21. Up to 512 participants will play for qualification for the playoffs on November 17th and 18th from 6 p.m. Only the best four players reach the playoffs.

Here you can register for the Open Qualifier

Which mode is played in?

The OneBlade Cup is played in Ultimate Team on PlayStation 4. The mode is Best-of-2 Single Elimination.

Best of 2

Two games are played per round, the results are added up. The overall result decides whether you win or lose. There is no extra time or penalty shoot-out. Possible individual results are also 0:0, 1:1, 2:2, etc.

  • Example

Game 1: Player A 1:4 Player B

Game 2: Player A 4:0 player B

-> Player A wins 5:4.

  • What happens in the event of a tie?

If there is a tie after two games (e.g. 5:5), a third game is started and the winner is determined by a golden goal. If no goal is scored, a fourth game is started, etc.

Single elimination

If you lose a round you are eliminated from the tournament immediately.

Is there already prize money in the Open Qualifier?

No. There is prize money in the playoffs and the finals.

Who will the four winners of the Open Qualifier meet in the playoffs?

In addition to the four successful Open Qualifier participants, the four best players from each participating country in the FIFA 20 OneBlade Cup will compete in the playoffs. So the top 4 from Sweden, Denmark, Norway, Finland, Germany, Austria and Switzerland. A total of 32 players fight for a place in the finals.

You will get more information about the playoffs and the finals shortly.